Lourdes Brass Band Annual Solo Competitions 2017

Bachelor’s Lane was alive with the sounds of music as the annual Lourdes Brass Band Solo Competition’s took place on Sunday the 12th February 2017. The adjudicator for this highly anticipated event was Mr. Cormac O’hAodáin. Cormac is the principle French-horn player with the RTE Concert Orchestra.


The competition began with eleven young musicians competing in the “Young Achievers Section.” Although these performers have been playing for only a short time they achieved a high standard. Cormac paid glowing tribute to each contestant, awarding 1st to Cathal O Malley, 2nd to Alex Healy and 3rd to Jack Black. Katie Jane Cowley received a special recognition for her performance. 

The “Lourdes Youth Band Challenge Section” was next to shine. Each musician gave a beautiful rendition of their chosen piece. Mr. O’hAodáin commended the rising stars within the band, awarding 1st to Ella Carter, 2nd to Kelley Smith and 3rd to Aoife Milne. Katie Jane Cowley received the adjudicator’s special recognition for her talented performance.

Expectations where high as the “Lourdes Youth Band Open Section” commenced. The standard of playing within this section was superb, with every entrant giving everything to their performance. Mr. O’hAodáin was so impressed with the ability of these musicians he recommended they consider a career in music, awarding 1st to Sean Toner, 2nd to Gareth Curran and 3rd to Brian O Malley. This time Cormac’s special recognition went to Kevin Carter for a most lyrical recital.

The “Senior Open Section” was the final category of the day. The audience were treated to fantastic renditions of the most varied music possible, ranging from Baroque to modern contemporary pieces. Mr. O’hAodáin was impressed by the standard displayed in this section and awarded 1st (the “Harry Kelly” perpetual trophy) to Danny Black and 2nd to Mark Newman. In this section Tara Shortt received Cormac’s special recognition for her interpretation of a most challenging piece.

The Lourdes Brass Band would like to give special thanks Mr. Cormac O’hAodáin for adjudicating the event. We also thank Mrs. Klara Bolger for her dedication and the superb accompaniment she supplied.

Congratulations to everyone who took part and here’s looking forward to the 2018 competition.